A dagger of the mind - 3:25 a.m. - 2002-07-04


I planned to sleep tonight, after reading Microserfs, but I simply didn't feel like it.

Last night I had a nightmare. I haven't had one for years, probably. It wasn't even very frightening. I don't know what I was dreaming about before, but it turned into something terrible.

  • I am slowly and gradually pushing Television out of my life. I used to sit and watch up to 7 hours at a time, I'd like to think that it's mostly out of my life right now, but I may watch Seinfeld once in a while. Anyway, my sister is largely into Television, she likes anything, especially the "Reality Shows". She'll stare at that screen, the speakers much louder than necessary, and watch the most babish shite.
What was going on in my dream was some sort of "Reality" show, except it was not televised, there were no prizes - I alone was the audience. The "contestants" somehow found themselves being pulled, very slowly, into a rectangular machine, which appeared colourless and roughly three times my size in length, once in width, and open on each end.

The first "contestant" had his tongue extended out of his mouth by some mechanical arms inside the machine, it was then slowly cut, diagonally from the tip, to about 1/2 of the tongue's length.
Another contestant, a man, I remember, was then pulled in after the first was discarded, and was attacked by a python. That does sound kind of silly, but there was blood everywhere, and he was screaming so loudly, and it seemed for so long.
The third (and last, before I woke up) was dragged through, feet first. It's hard to describe exactly what I saw in my dream here, but it appeared as though the left side of his face was being torn off, from under the chin and upwards. Bones were crunching as the skin was torn off, and I could see the expression of his remainding face changing it's expression of pain and horror as it happened.

When I awoke, I was still deeply disturbed by the dream (nightmare). I was so relieved to have Lara next to me. She also woke, and noticed the shock on my face. When she asked, I did not describe in detail what I had dreamt, only that I had witnessed brutal murders - I didn't want to burden her. Besides, it's not something one likes to hear early in the morning.

I don't think writing about this helped me. I have to go to bed now, and I'm experiencing a fearful pain in my stomach. For fuck's sake, please don't let me dream that again.


Previous // Next
Archived

Guestbook
Notes
Profile
Rings
Images



Septicity.com
SidewalkVagina.com
Adbusters.org
Diaryland.com