Response to scarcity? - 1:53 p.m. - 2002-09-24


So far, school isn't exactly working out. I need inspiration. Right now I feel that I have potential, but it's not being used. I'm wasting time in school, I want to go out and do stuff. I understand it's "required" of me to get the education, but lately I feel Marketing is not for me. I knew this before I chose my major, but ironically it was the best choice I could make. All the talk about market segmentation, customer needs/valuations, profitability and "Economic Progress" is making me sick.

We're talking about GDP, and the Capital a company must have to start business, yet nothing about the true cost of business/manufacturing, nothing about Earth's finite natural capital. We only look at the "good" - how much more we can sell, the end product. Nothing about how much it is costing future generations for our overconsumption.

It's so bullshit. I want to say something, but there's no point. I don't think I can be believable enough to make at least some people, or even the instructor, understand where I'm coming from.

That's not what the course is about. We arrive, they tell us what we need to know, we leave. I've only heard discussion about how the processes work, and how they are applied or whatever.

Erm.. maybe next time I'll actually say something and see what happens.



"Imagine for a moment a world where cities have become peaceful and serene because cars and buses are whisper quiet, vehicles exhaust only water vapor, and parks and greenways have replaced unneeded urban freeways... Living standards for all people have dramatically improved, particularly for the poor and those in developing countries... worldwide forest cover is increasing; dams are being dismantled; atmospheric C02 levels are decreasing for the first time in two hundred years; and effluent water leaving factories is cleaner than the water coming into them. Industrialized countries have reduced resource use by 80 percent while improving the quality of life... Is this the vision of a utopia? In fact, the changes described here could come about in the decades to come as the result of economic and technological trends already in place.

-- Excerpted from Natural Capitalism


I can't help being a skeptic.


Previous // Next
Archived

Guestbook
Notes
Profile
Rings
Images



Septicity.com
SidewalkVagina.com
Adbusters.org
Diaryland.com