Mr. James and Mrs. Lara Pants - 4:21 p.m. - 2002-12-27


Totally badass. I love christmas this year. And this time it had the least to do with Jesus since I was born.

I totally pranked Lara.

I originally said that I couldn't come with her to visit her family for Christmas. I had to work X-mas eve, and the day after boxing day, therefore I couldn't make it for the drive down, and would need to come back early. However, on a spur of the moment idea I convinced my mom to let me leave christmas morning, and surprise Lara by coming to Windsor. So, on the way to her place last week, I stopped at the Greyhound terminal and got a one-way ticket to Windsor (assuming I would get a ride back). Next, I emailed Lara's mom Charlene and gave her the sitch - she was very happy about it and couldn't wait to see the look on Lara's face. We exchanged further emails and one phone call to seal the deal, and tie up loose ends. Finally, I amazingly got my shift (for today) switched for one on Sunday, so I was set.

The hardest part was making sure Lara didn't find out. I almost told her myself in casual conversation within the few days before Christmas, as did her mother (she told me), and even her cousins just before I got there. Devon, the funny and spunky 18 year old cousin didn't even know it was secret until 30 minutes before I arrived, and luckily didn't bring it up.

Long, boring story short: the bus ride was not too bad, yet introduced me to new, annoying passengers: i.e. Snoring, fidgeting sleeping men, and small restless children who never shut up and play with the overhead lights). However, nothing could top the smelly frenchman who's reeking hair waffed in my face a couple August's ago when I visited my good friend Grant in Winnipeg (not to mention that the trip was THIRTY hours).

So I finally make it to my destination, forget my Adbusters magazine on the bus (hey, maybe someone will pick it up and learn something), and place the icing on the cake. To top it off, Charlene had the same idea I had on the way, I could call her from a cell phone (she brought hers) and make it like I was at home as I arrive at the house. It worked perfectly. I was making up things off the top of my head, I was so convincing. As I walked in the house, she was there in the living room, and I could hear her voice both on the cell and from the room, so I was nervous to even say anything cause she'd see me, and I wanted to make a joke. All I came up with was:

"(pause).... uhhh.. you're not paying attention, are you?"

Lara: "Yes I am!" (Thinking I was saying she wasn't listening to me)

Me: (another pause) ... (chortle)

(Then she finally see's me standing there at the door).

I think she said "Oh my god" about 80 times. She was so surprised, and didn't expect it one bit. It was probably the best gift I could have given her this year. I was so happy to be there with her, and she was overjoyed with the surprise.

Her family was so great. Her aunt and uncle are such fun and interesting people. Not to mention their daughters Safra, Devon and Keitha. I enjoyed my stay, and look forward to seeing them again.



I'll probably write another after New Years. The Price Chopper Crew & Friends are going to the remote hotel in Orangeville again this year, and I predict it to be even better than the last. Why do I write this like I'm a freakin journalist? The last part was so personal, anybody who reads this besides Lara has no clue about the New Years thing. Ah, I'll just write about that in the next one. I'm rambling.


Previous // Next
Archived

Guestbook
Notes
Profile
Rings
Images



Septicity.com
SidewalkVagina.com
Adbusters.org
Diaryland.com