Weightless - 12:30 a.m. - 2003-03-21


New favourite today: Plaguegirl

She wrote an entry here which inspired this email:

Hi,

I just read that entry. I did not realize until now that so many people say such things, the ones who say it more often being the least deserving.

I thought about it a bit (admittedly not for very long) - and I can't recall ever thinking, let alone saying, that I deserve something in the capacity you spoke of. For example, after working hard for two weeks, I don't say to myself that I deserve to go out with my girlfriend or whatever - I simply can afford to do so, and would like to do it.

One thing did come to mind though: it was the fact that I've been working the same stupid part-time job for 3 1/2 years now and still only make $1 over the minimum wage. An open full time position is available (more hours and increased pay) which I can fulfill way beyond the previous occupant's ability. My boss was optimistic when I talked to him about my filling said position, yet he recently hired another part-timer and will distribute the hours among us, with no pay raise. If I say that I deserve that position, then I am guilty.

Life will go on, however, so this small stress along with my struggle to get out of a small credit card debt along with saving to move out with my girlfriend will soon be a in the past.

This has been somewhat therapeutic.

Thank you,

James



Previous // Next
Archived

Guestbook
Notes
Profile
Rings
Images



Septicity.com
SidewalkVagina.com
Adbusters.org
Diaryland.com