Mild progress - 1:51 a.m. - 2003-04-16


I bought a unicycle yesterday. I had found my mother's old uni a few weeks ago in the basement, and tried to learn to ride it a bit with Kevin. We only practiced for an hour or so, but by the end, I could go about 4 pedal revolutions before I fell. I got a 24" Norco uni, and it will be at Cyclepath by Monday or Tuesday next week.



Today, I hitchhiked for the second time ever. The first time was about a month ago. I missed the bus, and didn't want to stand around for half an hour waiting for the second one. I walked into Streetsville along the bus route, and down Queen where I tried to thumb a ride. I took a left at Eglington, still on the bus route (just in case nobody picked me up and the next bus caught up to me) and walked about another kilometer (over 100 cars must have passed me by then) when somebody finally stopped for me.

It turned out that the driver and passenger in the car were two girls who work at the Second Cup in Streetsville, Cara and Betty. I'd been served by them before, and recognized them, but had never met them. Anyway, they stopped off at McDonald's for cheeseburgers and a smoke, then dropped me off right at the bus terminal at Square One.

Today, I found myself in the same situation, except it was mid-day, but still the busses only came every half hour. I took the same path as before. When I was a little way down Queen, I decided to leave the sidewalk and take to the street for another long backward walk with my thumb embarrassingly sticking out as most drivers would dismiss me without a second thought. To my surprise, the FIRST car that passed actually stopped. He was a real nice guy, who happened to be going past exactly where I was going. We chatted a bit, he was going to an interview, I told him I was going to be applying for jobs today (and possibly interviewing also) but slept in and didn't feel like it. I was going downtown to meet Lara.

I doubt I'll ever hitchhike again. I've had two good experiences, and my luck has probably run out in terms of friendly people who will pick up a hitchhiker.


I've applied to about 15-20 jobs in the past week, (I haven't counted). I got an email today from a company that is looking for Drivers/Navigators for waste removal vehicles. It seems like a joke to be a navigator, but what the hell? I could make decent money just sitting on my bum and looking at a map or whatever. I guess I'll have to wake up early tomorrow and call for an interview. I guess I might walk to PC tonight to see if I work at 10am or 1pm tomorrow (I can't remember) so I'll know if I'm available to make it for an interview in the morning.

I wish I had my uni now, so going to PC would be faster and more fun.


Previous // Next
Archived

Guestbook
Notes
Profile
Rings
Images



Septicity.com
SidewalkVagina.com
Adbusters.org
Diaryland.com