More stuff.. - 12:35 a.m. - 2003-04-22


I got laid off at work today. On Friday, May 2, Streetsville Price Chopper is closing. My last pay cheque will include the last one week of work (about $275), all of my accumulated vacation pay (about $375), and 3 weeks of pay (my average weekly income for the past 12 weeks times three) minus statutory deductions. So I'm guessing I'll be collecting about $1100. I'm going to decide what to do with it when I'm securely in another job. Right now, I'm thinking about taking two bartending courses at George Brown College. I also have the 6 course Small Business certificate I want, but that can wait.

I've been sort of looking for a job the past two weeks, but I haven't been able to get any time off to go for interviews, so I'm not sure how long I'll be unemployed before I get a new job. It shouldn't be long, there's lots of work around.

I'm glad the store is closing. (This next part is mostly a rant about what annoys me about work, so feel free to skip through it)...

Mainly because I hate working for my manager Neil. He is a good guy, he's usually quite cheerful in his own sinister way, however he is very immature, and incapable of doing his job well.

I used to think it was to spite our old owner, Rob, but when he left in January, I realised that it was simply stupidity mixed with carelessness. They could pay me $20+ per hour for me to gain 200 pounds, sit on my ass all day upstairs in the office, and write grocery orders before the current order hasn't even been put up yet. I'm convinced I could totally turn that store around if only they gave me 4 months to get rid of all the fucking overstock that Neil has accumulated, and whip the grocery clerks into shape. Gary and myself have the most shifts in the grocery department. The others, besides Stefan, only ruin the hard work we put in TRYING to keep the store organized so Neil doesn't have an excuse for writing a stupid order. FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCK

Anyway, this will force me to get a new job. Even if it is at another grocery store, hopefully it will be run better than the one I am at, and where I can actually get full time hours and full time pay.

Other things that have happened:
  • My hair is now dyed green


  • Spent Easter weekend in Windsor with Lara's Aunt and Uncle and cousins


I called Cyclepath today, and my uni has not arrived yet. I'm hoping that it will come in tomorrow, and Kevin and I can finally try to learn on one that isn't from the 70's.


Previous // Next
Archived

Guestbook
Notes
Profile
Rings
Images



Septicity.com
SidewalkVagina.com
Adbusters.org
Diaryland.com