My Uni - 10:41 a.m. - 2003-04-26


I got my uni two days ago. When I got home from work, they hadn't left a message. My brother told me the phones were out, so we went to Cyclepath to see if it was there, and it was!

We immediately went to the high school where Kevin and I practiced before, because there is a long wall to use for balance. We practiced for about half an hour, then went home at 6:30. After dinner at around 8, my sister Melanie offered her shoulder so I could practice out in the court. After an hour, I could let go and ride about 15 feet before falling off. She went inside, and I continued by holding on to the car in the driveway and going as far as I could on my own past the car. I did this for about another two and a half hours, and by 11pm I could go down the driveway, down my street and turn on to the next one (in all about 80 feet) before falling off. I even learned to mount the uni unaided, and did it a couple times, before deciding to quit at 11:30.

Then yesterday, I took it to work, and practiced on my lunchbreak for about 45 minutes. I got so much better. I was going up and down the road behind the store, and could even turn a bit. Now, I only mount on my own (it's the hardest part) and can pretty much go anywhere as long as there's no unavoidable obstacles in the way, and without frantically swinging my arms around to balance like yesterday.

I have a small "OUTATIME" Back to the Future licence plate for little kids' bikes that I'm going to put on it, and I still have to name it.

Everyone asks me if I can juggle.


Previous // Next
Archived

Guestbook
Notes
Profile
Rings
Images



Septicity.com
SidewalkVagina.com
Adbusters.org
Diaryland.com